Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Delta Region Community Health Systems Development (DRCHSD) Program Advisory Committee is to advise The National Rural Health Resource Center (The Center) on all aspects of rural health care unique to the Delta Region. DRCHSD Advisory Committee (AC) members provide valuable information regarding health issues and challenges that are impacting this region.

AC members will inform the Delta Regional Authority (DRA), the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP) and The Center of key issues impacting the communities, provision of technical assistance services and development of resources. AC input provides strategic direction and implementation of objectives of the technical assistance and will provide feedback for program effectiveness.

The AC serves by providing The Center with their professional expertise; their diverse knowledge of constituent perspectives; and, their information on local and national rural health challenges and resources. Information gathered through feedback also helps to ensure the technical assistance is responsive to current needs of local communities and allows for identification of emerging trends.

The Advisory Committee will share their insight and advise on the following topics:

  • Rural health policy
  • Financial distress factors
  • Issues in health care quality
  • Rural health care coordination
  • Access to care including the implementation of telehealth technology
  • Identification of problems with delivery of health care
  • Emergency medical services
  • Identification of problems in rural health care workforce including the education, training, recruitment and retention of health care providers
  • Any other matters relating to rural health care

Advisory Committee Members

Name Organization
Michael Adcock Center for Excellence in Rural Health
Kimberly Brent-Jones Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
Mellie Bridewell Arkansas Rural Health Partnership
Fran Feltner University of Kentucky Center for Excellence in Rural Health
Brian Henson Delta Regional Authority (DRA)
Alex Holland Delta Regional Authority (DRA)
Bob Humphrey Former Delta Hospital CEO
Carmen Irwin CMS Rural Regional Coordinator (Region 6)
Bill Jolley Tennessee Hospital Association 
Chuck Lail  Alabama Public Health 
Terence McGhee United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Paul Moore Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP)
Rachel Moscato Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP)
Donna Newchurch Louisiana Rural Ambulance Alliance
Alexa Ofori Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP)
Nisha Patel Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP)
Toniann Richard Health Care Collaborative of Rural Missouri
Brock Slabach National Rural Health Association (NRHA)
John Supplitt American Hospital Association (AHA)
Rhonda Suter-Ozark Ozark County, Missouri Public Health Administration
Joe Thompson Arkansas Center for Health Improvement


This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of a financial assistance award totaling $10,000,000 with 100% funded by HRSA/HHS and $0 amount and 0% funded by non-government sources. The contents are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official views of, nor an endorsement by HRSA/HHS, or the U.S. Government.