DRCHSD Announces 11 New Healthcare Organizations

Delta Regional Authority Welcomes 11 Healthcare Facilities to the Delta Region Community Health Systems Development Technical Assistance Program

Cohort 2021 includes rural health care facilities from Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Missouri.

CLARKSDALE, MS - Delta Regional Authority (DRA) today announced 11 additional healthcare facilities chosen to participate in the Delta Region Community Health Systems Development – Technical Assistance Program (DRCHSD), which enhances healthcare delivery in the Delta and Alabama Black Belt regions through intensive, in-depth and long-term technical assistance to rural hospitals and medical facilities.

In 2017, DRA partnered with the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to establish the DRCHSD program. The technical assistance, provided by subject matter experts at the National Rural Health Resource Center, supports capacity building for quality improvement, telehealth, and integration of social services to help healthcare facilities increase financial viability and operational efficiency.

“Over the past two years, we have seen that access to quality healthcare in rural areas is more critical than ever.  The Delta Region Community Health System Development program strengthens the region’s rural healthcare systems through the implementation of best practices to address the delivery of healthcare needs for an improved overall patient experience,” said DRA Alternate Federal Co-Chairwoman Leslie Durham. “DRA is thankful for our partners at HRSA’s Federal Office of Rural Health Policy and the National Rural Health Resource Center who support and prioritize rural healthcare access throughout our region.”

“During a time when our rural communities need support the most, we’re pleased to welcome the largest cohort the Delta Region Community Health Systems Development Program has seen since its inception in 2017,” said Tom Morris, HRSA’s Associate Administrator for Rural Health Policy. “These facilities will get intensive technical assistance and support to address challenges so they can continue to be a key health care resource to their local rural communities.”

The following 11 healthcare facilities were selected for the DRCHSD Cohort 2021.

  1. Hill Hospital of Sumter County | York, Alabama
  2. Dallas County Medical Center | Fordyce, Arkansas
  3. T.W. Wagner, INC | Manila, Arkansas
  4. Allen Parish Community Healthcare Hospital | Kinder, Louisiana
  5. Franklin Medical Center | Winnsboro, Louisiana
  6. LaSalle General Hospital | Jena, Louisiana
  7. St. James Parish Hospital | Lutcher, Louisiana
  8. Springhill Medical Center | Springhill, Louisiana
  9. West Feliciana Parish Hospital | St. Francisville, Louisiana
  10. Cape Family Medical Clinic | Cape Girardeau, Missouri
  11. Salem Memorial District Hospital | Salem, Missouri